Looking for Dad

Whenever Mum and Dad
were full of glomm
they always yelled;
“TIDY UP YOUR ROOM!”

Just because my comics were
scattered here and
everywhere and
because I did not care
where I left my underwear
they yelled. “YOU CAN’T WATCH TV TODAY IF YOU DON’T TIDY ALL THOSE THINGS AWAY!”

Then one day they
could not care less
about the room’s awful mess.
They seemed more intent on having a domestic argument.
They both looked glum
and instead of me Dad
screeched at Mum.

One day when I
went to bed he
simply vanished.

I had not tidied
up my room because
I too was
full of gloom.

That night I dreamt
Dad was hidden
beneath the things
I’d been given.

In my dream
I was in despair
and flung about
my underwear
but could not find
him anywhere.

I looked for Dad
lots and lots
beneath crumpled sheets
and old robots.

I looked in the cupboards
and in shoes,
I looked up all
the chimney flues.

I remembered how
he’d seemed to be
unhappier than
even me. When I woke I knew
it was not my room
that filled Mum and Dad
with so much gloom.

Now I stare at all old toy cars
and carpets stained’with old Mars bards
and hope he will
come back soon
and admire my very tidy room.

Brian Patten

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

